Need Help Choosing Chicks

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by new2chicks, Apr 20, 2008.

1. new2chicks

new2chicks New Egg

Apr 20, 2008
    Southern Tier, NY
    I am new to backyard chickens, but thought it would be nice to have some to have our own eggs and meat as well as a good chore for my kids (I have 6) to have.

I basically know nothing about chickens, so really need advice as to what kind (breed) to get. I have kids, so they will be dealing with them alot, so I want them to have good temperments...no spurring roosters!!

We'd also prefer to have white eggs since our experience with brown eggs is that they are a "strange" strong flavor, which may just be something we have to get used to? But, thought maybe we would try to get hens that lay white eggs as long as they have good temperments.

Does anyone have any suggestions for me???

Last edited: Apr 20, 2008
  2. wynedot55

wynedot55 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 28, 2007
    well from what you say.i think youd want white leghorn hens.they lay white eggs.an they lay alot of eggs.now they arnt the gentlest chickens.but they will get used to you an the kids being round them.

3. Featherland

Featherland Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 28, 2007
    Missouri
    I don't find any difference in the taste of white eggs or brown eggs. I do notice a difference between fresh eggs and store bought eggs that have been sitting around for a while. Most chickens that lay white eggs are flightier and harder to handle. Most brown egg layers have better temperments. Buff Orpingtons are gentle birds usually good around children. Mine don't mind getting hugged from the kids.

4. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

I've never been able to tell the difference in the taste of a white vs a brown egg. [​IMG] They're the exact same on the inside...just came from a different breed of chicken. Now storebought vs home grown fresh eggs is a different story...big difference in taste there.

5. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress