Need help figuring out the breed

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by 10Momma14, Dec 15, 2014.

1. 10Momma14

10Momma14 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 15, 2014
    Northwestern, Arkansas
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]
    Hello, I am new to the Back Yard Chicken page. I have raised chickens for a year and a half now. My flock is all different kinds of breeds. This past July I had a hen sit on some eggs from a farm that has all different breeds of chickens, I had 4 out of 11 eggs hatch. I could tell what 3 of the chicks were, but this one I could not figure out. I had never seen a chick look like the first picture does. The bottom picture shows him at 5 months, I have looked all over the internet to see if I could find out what he is. I have not had much success finding that out, he kinda looks like a Blue Andalusian. But he does not have the white ear lobes as they do, I wonder if as he matures if he will get them.

Last edited: Dec 15, 2014
  2. my sunwolf

my sunwolf Chillin' With My Peeps

He looks like a Blue Ameraucana to me. May not be pure, but Ameraucana is definitely in his genetics.

3. 10Momma14

Dec 15, 2014
    Northwestern, Arkansas
    But he doesn't have a berd like my Ameraucana have, and I have seen a pure bred Ameraucana rooster. He hatched out with a pure Black Australorp hen, Rode Island Red Rooster, and a Rode Island Red Ameraucana mix. I found a picture that looks just like him, its the Andalusian. This rooster has me racking my brain.

4. my sunwolf

my sunwolf Chillin' With My Peeps

Best way to test would be to breed him to a white egg layer and see what color eggs his offspring lay. He looks mixed breed, whatever he is.

5. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
  6. 10Momma14

Dec 15, 2014
    Northwestern, Arkansas
    I don't care what he is, he is very beautiful. But it would be kinda nice to know what he is. you know what I mean.

7. Mountain Peeps