Need help identifying breed

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Majikthise, Aug 19, 2013.

1. Majikthise

Majikthise Out Of The Brooder

Aug 19, 2013
    Thank you for any help! My guess is Bantam cockerel and Langshan pullet they are both two months old. Found them free on craigslist

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 19, 2013
  2. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    The pullet does look like a Langshan, but the rooster looks like a mix.

3. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Your pullet appears to be a Langshan. However, your rooster is a mixed-breed.

4. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    I don't think that hen looks at all like a langshan. She looks like a young adult bantam hen. The rooster is a mixed breed bantam rooster. The hen may be a bantam "breed", I'm not good with bantams so will let someone else chime in to her parentage. Langshans are large. leggy birds who don't have that long tail or low set wings.

5. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    The hen does have the feathered legs, black plumage, single comb, and blackish legs of a Langshan. However, I agree that the hen's type isn't that Langshan like, so she could very well be some sort of feather-legged bantam mix. A Langshan is just the closest match as to what she could be.

6. Majikthise

Aug 19, 2013