Need help identifying # of day for chicken egg (Incubating)

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by HayHayComet, Oct 13, 2019.

1. HayHayComet

HayHayComet Chirping

Oct 13, 2019
    Medway MA
    Hello All!

I am new to Backyardchickens as well as to owning/raising a flock of chickens. A couple of weeks ago, our Silkie Roo was killed by a hawk. In an attempt to carry on his legacy and have a piece of him still with is, we are hatching some eggs. We are down to one survivor, who I believe is doing well. I set egg on 9/24. According to what I’ve read, we should be on day 19. Although there is some great information regarding hatching/incubation/candling, etc. I am having trouble identifying what day, according to many charts/pics of embryo development, this egg actually is. I started the eggs in a homemade still air incubator with a bulb and water to create humidity. I then ordered an incubator (Magicfly), when most eggs were ceasing mid-development, approx. 10 days in This last surviving egg has been holding on and we’re determined to do everything we can to have a successful hatch! It did have some damage from what looks to be a hen peck to the air cell end of the egg. I applied plain candle wax in attempt to repair, which seems to have helped, since the damage appears to have expanded but stayed intact. Incubator has been set between 99.5-101 degrees Fahrenheit and between 45-55% humidity. Have had difficulty regulating temp/humidity throughout. I have placed 3 devices (gauge, probe, digital) temp and hygrometers because I don’t know what I’m doing. I’m still learning but I just feel like the development does not appear to be appropriate in size for being day 19; seems too small? I would greatly appreciate advice regarding:
    1. Approximate # of day this egg may be? (according to development seen in pics/video).
    2. Is air cell appropriate size for # of day? What is needed to encourage air cell growth.