Need help ID'ing cause of my first dead chicken :(

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Jenn1399, Jun 12, 2011.

1. Jenn1399

Jenn1399 Chillin' With My Peeps

Update on reply posted 6/14 @5pm.

One of our cuckoo marans seems to be coughing. Maybe sneezing? She makes a little chicken-y squeek-y noise & her body shakes when it happens, so it seems like a cough...??? I first noticed it last weekend, a few times here & there & now she is doing it a lot more - half a dozen times & then a break for a few minutes & then she'll do it again. Today, I also thought that she was wheezing a bit too. She is about 2 years old & from the # of eggs we are getting, I believe she is laying just about daily.

Any insight on what this could be or what I can do to help her? I am very new at this, been a chicken momma for just 2 months now, so I have no idea!!!

Last edited: Jun 15, 2011
  2. CMV

CMV Flock Mistress

Apr 15, 2009
    Give us the following information. The more you tell us, the better we will be able to help you.

1) What type of bird , age and weight.
    2) What is the behavior, exactly.
    3) How long has the bird been exhibiting symptoms?
    4) Are other birds exhibiting the same symptoms?
    5) Is there any bleeding, injury, broken bones or other sign of trauma.
    6) What happened, if anything that you know of, that may have caused the situation.
    7) What has the bird been eating and drinking, if at all.
    8) How does the poop look? Normal? Bloody? Runny? etc.
    9) What has been the treatment you have administered so far?
    10 ) What is your intent as far as treatment? For example, do you want to treat completely yourself, or do you need help in stabilizing the bird til you can get to a vet?
    11) If you have a picture of the wound or condition, please post it. It may help.
    12) Describe the housing/bedding in use

3. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida