Need help in renovating and old chicken coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by schizms, Mar 15, 2013.

1. schizms

schizms New Egg

Mar 15, 2013
    https://picasaweb.google.com/saman.qadri/Coop?authkey=Gv1sRgCJyOy97Sodi0qQE#5855523934385410690

I am a complete novice but dont want to spend 100's on a chicken coop. I'm considering getting this skeleton from someone for really cheap and then want to fix it up. Any ideas on how to turn it into something hen-friendly and what are the elements that I need to add in before ordering my hens. Please help me as I have no experience in keeping hen or carpentry for that matter, but really want to start.

Thanks guys!

2. Masonicflock

Masonicflock Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 4, 2012
    Springfield, Tn
    Will your Chickens be able to roam? That will play a big part if they are going to have to stay in that 24/7. Will need sides most definitely to handle and protect the chickens from the elements and predators. Depending on how you do your walls will determine if you will need to add ventilation ports or not.

3. schizms

schizms New Egg

Mar 15, 2013
    Yes they will have a big backyard to roam in. Its windy in my backyard but pleasant, we live in Santa Barbara. There are two floors. The top floor will be nesting and resting right? And the bottom floor for feeding. Where do I place the feed and water and how many hen do you think would fit comfortably in here? What would be your recommendation on the clean-up system? Just wood chips i sweep off or a tray?

4. Masonicflock

Nov 4, 2012
    Springfield, Tn