Need help selecting sheep or goat breed

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by watchdogps, Aug 20, 2011.

1. watchdogps

watchdogps Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2011
    Central Ohio
    I posted this on backyard herds, but it just isnt as active as here.
    We are moving to a mini farm this week, and had planned on getting some retired babydolls. Hubby has been watching a lot of documentaries though, and wants to see if we can get something more utilitarian. We are total newbies to farm stuff but not to animal husbandry in general. Can anyone make some suggestions as to breeds?
    - we would like something hardy as well as cold hardy ( we live in ohio)
    -docile
    -prefer easy lambing
    - haven't decided what purpose yet. I'd love dairy so I know they wouldn't be killed, but I don't know if the market for milk is there. I can live with meat knowing they will be raised humanely.
    -we have a small space. Probably two half acre pens and maybe some small short term pens that might be 1/10th acre. If you suggest a breed, could you also advise how many we could accommodate?
    - we would like to primarily grass feed.

oh, we would consider goats too, so suggestions on those are welcome.

2. Okla-doodle-doo

Okla-doodle-doo Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 8, 2008
    Portland,Tn
    I don't have any sheep and am certainly no expert, but when I get back out on the farm I am going to get shetlands. I have read a lot about them and have seen several up close and absolutely love them. And since you are going to be on a "mini" farm ,then you can have more of them. Research them and I think you will like them. Great wool,easy lambing,small enough to handle. They have it all. I would think you would be able to have at least a half a dozen and their seasonal offspring,maybe more depending on other feed(hay,etc( Maybe someone more knowledgeable can chime in. Any way congrats on the farm life!

3. debilorrah

debilorrah The Great Guru of Yap Premium Member