1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

Need help with babies and broody momma!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by jojorose8, Apr 24, 2018.

1. jojorose8

jojorose8 Chirping

Apr 17, 2017
    Chelsea, VT
    I’m new to letting a hen hatch her own chicks. I have a broody hen who I bought 4 fertile eggs for. 1 hatched on day 20 (Sunday) and one hatched on day 21 (Monday). The other two eggs don’t have pips yet. The last time I candled, around day 14, they were still viable. The hen is also sitting on 4 nonfertilized eggs she won’t let me take. So, my questions.

1) Once the eggs started hatching, my broody stopped leaving the nest for her daily food, drink and poop. Is this normal?
    2) I was worried so I put food and water right near her. Today, she pooped twice in the nesting box so I had to change the pads. Should I have not have fed her to prevent that?
    3) I’m letting her stay with the flock (5 other hens). When I came home today, one of the chicks was laying about 2’ away from the mom out in the coop. I picked it up and it was cold. I thought it was dead, but it started peeping. I put it back under the hen. It kept peeping for a while, but is quiet now. I also noticed what looks like a little cyst on its head. I plugged in my chick heater in the house just incase my hen was rejecting the chick, but it’s been a few hours and the chick is still under her. Any ideas what might have happened? Should I be concerned about the cyst?
    4) My others hens ate 2 eggs today in the nesting boxes. Coincidence?
    5) Can my broody hen tell of eggs are still viable? If not, when should I take the other eggs from her?