Need help with homemade incubator

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by startingaflock, Jan 10, 2010.

1. startingaflock

startingaflock Out Of The Brooder

Jun 3, 2009
    I finished building my incubator (styrofoam cooler type) and I am having problems with the thermostat. It has about a 10 degree variance of when it shuts off and comes on. Does anyone else have this problem. I am using a hot water heater thermostat, a 25 watt light bulb, digital thermometer and a computer fan. Any ideas? I have a little time to tweak it. I want to put eggs in in February (21st).

2. rebelcowboysnb

rebelcowboysnb Confederate Money Farm

Put the thermostat 2 inches from the light on one side of the incubator an the fan on the other side.

You may need a hotter light too.

3. Junkmanme

Junkmanme Chillin' With My Peeps

Although I have no personal experience with the "hot-water-heater thermostat", I have seen several "posts" on BYC regarding them. A "Search" would yield much info.

It seems to me that it is important to position the "heat" (light-bulb) NEAR the thermostat. ALSO, I believe someone who was "in-the-know" drilled some holes somewhere in one of theses thermostats to make it "more responsive". I don't know the details of that.

Try a BYC "Search" for water heater thermostat and see what "turns-up". [​IMG]

-Junkmanme- [​IMG]

4. Barred Rocker

Barred Rocker cracked egg

Jul 15, 2009
    King and Queen Co, Va
    I"m using the hot water tank heater thermostat in my homemade incubator too. I was having similar problems as you are. My temp swings were nearly 20 degrees between shutting off then on. I found a page here on byc where someone drilled holes in the plastic part of the the thermostat and it worked like a charm. I did that and mounted it about 6 to 8 inches from my heat source. Works great now, there's only a couple of degrees variance now and my eggometer remains at constant temp of 99.5.