Need help with Silkies

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Tyandmacsmom, Jun 29, 2011.

1. Tyandmacsmom

Tyandmacsmom Out Of The Brooder

Jun 28, 2011
    Good morning. I just joined the forum, and wow do I love all the information! That being said, I'm pretty new to having my own chickens. (My mom always had some running around, but never silkies.) Can you help me figure out what I might have in my small flock? I'm not sure how hold they are. I bought them at Tractor supply in the middle of May, and they were pretty big. They were fully feathered out. Thanks for any help or guesses I can get!!

This is my little flock, or at least most of the silkies I have.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

This is Mama, the only definite rooster we have. We thought he was a she, hence the name Mama. He's big, and super friendly. He was the perfect girl til we saw him trying to crow. [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

So, here are the chickens that I need help sexing. I'll post my opinion, and see if anyone agrees? I have no actual experience, so it's just guesses between the difference in how they look and behave, and what I have learned here. [​IMG]

Hen 1:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Hen 2:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Hen 3:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Hen??? 4:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Hen???5:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Rooster1:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Hen 6:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Rooster2:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Thanks, I appreciate anyone's opinions
    Miranda

2. mljohnson05

mljohnson05 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 16, 2011
    Missouri
    [​IMG] From Missouri and [​IMG]

Top Picture helps a little more cause you can see their body posture and full view better...based on that I see at least 3 Roo, maybe a 4th....