Need helping determining Gender of sweet silkies! I'm a newbie!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by sunnysongbird, Jul 20, 2011.

1. sunnysongbird

sunnysongbird Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 20, 2011
    Hi there! I have three sweet silkies, all are almost 4 months old. I know the gender of one of them (he's got the big red gobble) and he is a rooster because he has crowed, but I am unsure about the other two. So i'm requesting for help because i'm a newbie and i don't know much about chickens. Thanks for helping! here's a picture of all three of them. I know the gender of the one on the left since he has crowed. his name is honey. He's a sweet roo, but he manages to always peck the other two.
    [​IMG]
    Honey on the left, Hawk in the middle, Sunny on the left.

The biggest of the three is Sunny, (bigger than the roo in size) and it's a white silkie. It used to be the "leader" and would peck the other two when it was younger, but now the brown one with the gobble named Honey who crows has taken charge and pecks at all of them! Sunny has a high chirp, and eats a lot. Here are a few pictures of sunny
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Then there is hawk who is the smallest. It has a curved beak and is VERY quick and alert. Sadly, it gets beaten up by Honey the roo all the time. We think she's a Hen but aren't sure. Sunny and Hawk usually spend more time together than Honey (haha maybe because Honey always attacks both of them!) But hawk is very sweet a bird.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Again, Sunny is the white silkie and Hawk is the brown silkie without the gobble.
    Thanks for your help and tell me if I should upload more pictures!
    [​IMG]:yiipchick

2. Lothiriel

Lothiriel Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Aug 30, 2007
    New York State
    My Coop