need info on expanding my flock

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by doxielover, May 26, 2010.

1. doxielover

doxielover In the Brooder

Apr 22, 2010
    Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to raising chickens. Fortunately my neighbor is a breeder. He breeds to the breed standard, shows his birds, and also raises more rare breeds. Currently I have 5 barred rocks, 4 of which are roosters, this group is 7 months old. Roos are all kept separate. I also have five 8 weeks old javas, three of which are roosters. I plan on giving two of those roos back to the breeder. I would like to get more pullets the same age as my javas but I would like to know if I can do this and mix the new ones with the current 8 week old javas. The javas are soon going to have their own coop and run so I thought this would be a good time to find more pullets the same age and mix them. Can I do this, even if it is a different breed the same age? I haven't seen too much info on this part of managing your flock either online or in any books I have. Does anyone have any thoughts on this? I would appreciate it.

2. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop
    If they are the same age, there will be squabbles for three or four days and then they will settle in together.

One thing... I don't know what the temperament of javas are... You may want to ask the breeder what he thinks since he is raising them.

For instance there are certain types of games that I wouldn't mix with other breeds of chickens.

Hope that helps.

3. doxielover

Apr 22, 2010
    Thank you Mahroni,