Need Input on a Coop

akertaacres

In the Brooder
5 Years
Mar 21, 2014
I am considering this coop for my 1st "beginner" coop. I want your thoughts -
pros and cons. It is a CC Only brand coop and I don't really know anything
about them. ANY input anybody could provide to me would be most appreciated!
I am attaching a photo of the Coop and Run.
Thanks!

Here are the dimensions. Right now, as a newbie, I am
only interested in having about 4-8 chickens. I guess that
number changes, though, from everything I've read! LOL!

Huh... the first photo makes it look far larger than it actually is.

To figure out what a good number of birds would be, you'll want the actual measurement for the coop itself, length and width, minus the nest boxes. And then the measurement for the run itself, length and width. Between the two, figuring 4 sq ft a standard sized bird in coop/10 sq ft in run, the smaller of the two numbers is how many birds the coop can generally hold.

If the manufacturer does not have those numbers posted contact them directly and ask for that info.

Just eyeballing it, I'm guessing the setup is about right for 5 birds, but that's just a guess without exact numbers.

I had to look it up, seems nice! I saw that coop floor space, not including nest boxes, is 32"x59", or 3'x4.9' which gives you roughly 14+ square feet of interior floor space, almost 15, not including nesting boxes. If I'm right on the sizes, I think you would be okay with 4 hens. I know it says 12 on the web site, but they always overestimate. The general rule you'll see often here is 4sq feet of coop per bird. It helps keep everyone civil. Hopefully someone who has this model will chime in.