need reassurance-had to break one out

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by futurefarmer08, Jan 2, 2009.

1. futurefarmer08

futurefarmer08 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 29, 2008
    near Sac. Ca
    Hi, I am a total Newbie. Had 2 little guys hatch on day 20. could hear another one. Rocking and rolling the egg. Finally pipped but just cheeping for at least 20+hrs. Lost a batch previously. (Poor quality incubator) One was too dry to make it out.
    So I was too afraid this guy wasn't going to make it. Long story short, added wet papertowel. waited nothing. Helped him out. He is fully formed, fine, ready to have come out. But now he is thrashing about, Not in a seizure sort of way but I think he is exercising his muscles and trying to strenghthen them. There is a lot of cheeping. I saw him stand. Does it take a while for them to strengthen their neck muscles when they first come out? I think that was the progress with my other ones. ??
    I know I probably am worrying too much, it's already done, but I feel helpless and hope the little guy makes it. He seems very strong. Like his sibs.
    Any advice?

2. swtangel321

swtangel321 ~Crazy Egg Lady~

Jul 11, 2008
    Yes it takes time for them to get strong !! He sounds like he's doing the normal new chick thing. Give him some time !!

CONGRATS !!!!

3. spookyevilone

spookyevilone Crazy Quail Lady

Oct 5, 2008
    Minneapolis
    Quote:You're worrying too much [​IMG] Baby chicks all do that. The ones that need help have less experience kicking the egg off, so they wind up kicking in the air and falling over. I freak out over mine every time they hatch on their own, but if I walk away and come back a few hours later, they're fine. A day later, you wouldn't know they were spastic little slimeballs in the hatcher [​IMG]

Good luck with your babies!

-Spooky

4. futurefarmer08

futurefarmer08 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 29, 2008
    near Sac. Ca