Need some advice please and thanks! (Muscovy + Ancona)

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by MacDonald Farm, Feb 6, 2013.

1. MacDonald Farm

MacDonald Farm New Egg

Feb 6, 2013
    Agassiz, BC
    I have a one yr old male muscovy and his female mate has gone missing now for quite some time. I am worried he is lonely and wanting to get him another buddy. A friend of mine has Anconas. My questions: if I get a male will the two males fight do you think? 2) if I get a female Ancona can the Muscovy and the Ancona breed? 3) if the two breed, will they make mule ducks? Thanks and a pre-apology for sounding idiotic... but I am new at this!

2. coonhoundmama87

coonhoundmama87 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 26, 2011
    Wisconsin
    Sorry about the loss of his mate. Did she fly off? I've had that happen. Always good to clip a wing with scovies. Also as far as I know anything that breeds with them will produce a mule. And more than likely the 2 drakes will fight. No shame in being new, we all gotta learn somehow :)

3. jdywntr

jdywntr Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 31, 2009
    Somerville, AL
    [​IMG]

If you had the ducks for a while, it is unlikely that she would just fly off. I would be more concerned about a predator if one of mine went missing because they know where food, the coop and safety are. 2 males may well fight. Regardless, a new duck will need to properly introduced, even a female. If you get a female they will breed and they will produce sterile offspring (mules).

4. Rosepath Garden

Rosepath Garden Out Of The Brooder

Jan 30, 2012
    New Hampshire
    I can keep drakes together as long as there are no other female poultry around they might even fight over a chicken.

5. MacDonald Farm

MacDonald Farm New Egg

Feb 6, 2013
    Agassiz, BC
    Thanks so much. I chose to get another Muscovy hen - but in the mean time the original hen has returned. She was laying on a clutch of eggs this whole time in a very hidden spot. Silly duck!

6. Valntyn