Need some directing to understand breeds and breeding..

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by mtngrl812, Apr 20, 2011.

1. mtngrl812

mtngrl812 Chillin' With My Peeps

I am new to this chicken raising stuff and I find the range of colors chickens come in to be just amazing [​IMG] never knew there were so many colors. I am hatching some eggs from various breeds now so I can have a colorful flock.

What I would like to know is where can I find information explaining how to breed for a specific trait. How do people breed for coloring? How do you breed for temperament? What about breeding for size and build? What breeds can you cross and not risk development issues?

If you guys could help me out and lead me in the right direction for understanding breeding and genetics I would appreciate it [​IMG]

2. muddyhorse

muddyhorse Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 11, 2009
    Bloomsdale, MO
    what breeds and colors do you have to work with and what is your goal ?

3. happytxchick

happytxchick Egg Song Acre

Jul 8, 2009
    Sulphur Springs, TX
    Read some of the specific breed threads and you'll pick up info as you go.

I have some mixed chickens (ex: my Olive Eggers are mixes between black copper Marans x Ameraucana [an OE] roo and a Welsummers roo over Ameraucana hens); however, it is better to keep your breeds pure and bred to The Standard.

To breed for a specific trait, like broodiness for example, you'd select a breed known for that trait, and then cull those who don't exhibit it best. (just a brief explanation -- you'll find it gets MUCH more complicated).

Just learn in bits and pieces and soon you'll have the whole picture.

4. phasianidae

phasianidae Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 9, 2010
    Quote:What do you mean by "better"?

5. youngbiddy

youngbiddy Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2009
    North Carolina
  6. happytxchick

Jul 8, 2009
    Sulphur Springs, TX
    Perhaps the correct word is "best." Is that what you're trying to get me to say?