Need some help please, Roo or Hens?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Artski, Mar 29, 2016.

1. Artski

Artski Out Of The Brooder

Mar 24, 2016
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The last one I'm 99% certain is a cockerel but the other 2 I'm not sure as they were the same as the one that is a pullet for sure up until recently. They had the same feather pattern and their tail feathers came in a week earlier than the roo. Any insight would be really appreciated. Thank you in advance.they were sold to me as red sexlinks and are about 5 weeks old.

Last edited: Mar 29, 2016
  2. elizabethjg

elizabethjg Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2016
    Texas
    I'm not sure what breed they are, but they are all looking like cockerels. And I am not a pro at determining gender. Beautiful birds though!

1 person likes this.
  3. Artski

Mar 24, 2016
    [​IMG]

4. ShellyBear

ShellyBear Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 10, 2010
    the third pic looks like a roo

5. Artski

Mar 24, 2016
    [​IMG]

Here another view

6. ShellyBear

ShellyBear Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 10, 2010
    that one looks like a roo

7. Artski

Mar 24, 2016
    The third pic is of the one I thought for sure was a roo as his wing pattern had all equal feathers and all the others had alternating long and short feathers

8. harmesonfarm

harmesonfarm Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 7, 2015
    Nanaimo, BC
    What breed are these chicks?

I'm thinking the second one may quite possibly be a roo, how old are they? 5 weeks or so?

it is a possibility that they are all roos, but it seems odd that they have all they're feathering already at that age, usually roos have a slower more patchy look is my understanding but perhaps that also depends on the breed.

perhaps someone with more experience will see this, good luck!

1 person likes this.
  9. Artski

Mar 24, 2016