1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Need some help!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by tnorm, Apr 2, 2016.

1. tnorm

tnorm New Egg

Apr 2, 2016
    Hi everyone! I am new to raising chickens and about four weeks ago I got 9 chicks. I know two of the nine are silkies and I am having a problem with one of them. The other is growing great, getting all of its feathers and actually growing but this one not so much. It is a lot smaller than all the other chicks, not growing feathers, and has something crusty around its skin. I have attached a picture to show what it looks like any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you! [​IMG]

2. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Sits With Chickens Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    Are those wounds? Is it being pecked by the others? I haven't seen anything like that. Have you checked it for mites or lice?

Last edited: Apr 2, 2016
  3. azygous

azygous Chicken Obsessed

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies
    That looks to be some sort of esoteric lesions perhaps caused by the canker virus. I'm sure not any kind of vet, but there are some on the Emergencies forum, so I asked the mods to move your thread there so you can get some proper help.

You have a much better chance of having someone recognize what those crusts are and be able to help than here on this forum.

Good luck, and I'm going to be following this.

4. realsis

realsis Crazy for Silkies

Jan 17, 2013
    California