Need suggestions on a breed of duck

RavenStorm

Songster
11 Years
Jun 1, 2008
Southern CA
Ok, so I am heading out tomorrow to pick up a duck buddy for my young Khaki Campbell. I have been told that any domestic breed will do as long as they are similar in age, but this is my first time actually getting to choose a duck and I want something that will fit with what I want and need. I really want a female for eggs (I'm fairly sure that my lil Khaki is a girl, it has been quaking LOUDLY and that's why I need to find a buddy for it), but I read somewhere that while Pekins are pretty high up there on the egg laying chart they quack a lot and very loudly. Is this true? The reason I'm trying to get to get a buddy for my duck is that I need her to talk in a lower voice and not scream for attention all day. Any suggestions? I already have a crazy neighbor throwing tantrums about the noise that this duck makes and getting her a friend is my last option before I have to give her away.

My cayugas are fairly quiet as ducks go. Hope you find her friend soon!
smile.png

I have Cayugas, Khaki Campbells, and Mallards, and they are all pretty quiet.

I agree with farm_mom, if you can't find another Campbell I would try to find a Cayuga. Mine are quiet, friendly and curious.

From the sounds of it, I think I really want a Cayuga. But I called up my the nearest feed store with ducks and right now all they have that are around the same age as my Khaki is mallards and pekins. I know I absolutely want a girl, and I while I know she will be a quacker I don't want loud ones like a pekin. What can you tell me about mallards? What is their ROL (rate of lay) because I haven't been able to find those figures. Are they loud like pekins?