Need to Vent - Coyote

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by This'l'do, Jan 13, 2010.

1. This'l'do

This'l'do Out Of The Brooder

Nov 28, 2009
    I just needed to vent and see if anyone had any ideas how to deter a certain predator as I really want my ladies and gentleman to be free range.

I came home off of nightshift at 6 this morning, my rooster is crowing (he doesn't normally let alone at that time!) and my dogs took a great interest in something on the floor at the end of my porch.

4hrs sleep later they are going nuts. I drag my sorry behind out of bed and look out the front window - takes a few minutes but I see a coyote about 40ft in front of my house meandering up my driveway, big bugger too and healthy looking. Got the gun out, by the time I got out it was about 100ft (I'm not that good without a scope). I followed it 400mtrs to the road and found my neighbour with his gun as well - neither of us got a shot off! URGH!!

My coop is close to the end of the porch and judging from the tracks there are at least two coyotes obviously taking an interest in my chucks in broad daylight - any ideas how to keep them away from them without penning my flock in?

2. weirdmuse

weirdmuse Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 18, 2008
    Southwest Ohio
    They tend to be creatures of habit. Get together with your neighbor and wait on them to come to you. You'll loose a bit of sleep, but you'll get your shot.

3. LynneP

LynneP Chillin' With My Peeps

Well, coyotes belong to packs. Even if you get this one, there are others. I'd be confining my chooks and/or building a coyote-safe run. The pack will get all of them if you are not prepared to get this solved. I live in a predator-rich zone, so I'm not just saying this...seriously.[​IMG]

4. This'l'do

Nov 28, 2009
    Thanks, I think I'll do both. My neighbour hates them as much as I do so we'll set up, but I'll have to wait until the spring to build a run - I don't feel like digging in 3ft of snow!!