Need your opinion about the Chocolate coloring in this Orpington

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by jmhappycowboy, Jan 25, 2010.

1. jmhappycowboy

jmhappycowboy The Egg Wrangler

Dec 13, 2007
    Philadelphia, MS
    I need the experts opinions about the chocolate colored feathers in this Bantam Orpington pullet. She is out of a Blue rooster and a Black hen. Last year I didn't notice any of these chocolate colored feathers in her but today was taking some pics and noticed all of these chocolate colored feathers scattered throughout her body. Is it possible she will eventually turn out to be chocolate? Is it possible for her to produce chocolate colored chicks? And if so what should I put with her to have a better chance to get chocolate Orps?

Thanks for any info.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    I'm no expert with genes - But what I see is a repeat of someone else's accident as well. In this thread, Tony crossed blue and black and got a bird that was entirely chocolatey colored. Chocolates cannot be made, though, so - It technically is not chocolate, but you could possibly cross it with a black to get some more splits out. Now with that few of brown feathers, I'm not sure. With this being the second incident of someone crossing these two and getting this, it makes me want to do it. [​IMG]

3. Bantimna

Bantimna Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 29, 2009
    South Africa
    She looks more black than chocolate .

4. Sonoran Silkies

Sonoran Silkies Flock Mistress

Jan 4, 2009
    Tempe, Arizona
    I think that perhaps she has sunburned feathers rather than chocolate or dun?

5. jmhappycowboy

Dec 13, 2007
    Philadelphia, MS
    Quote:I don't think it is sunburned feathers as she is in a cage inside of my barn and has been for quite some time and is not in any direct sunlight.

6. pips&peeps

pips&peeps There is no "I" in Ameraucana

Jan 18, 2008
    Newman Lake, WA