Needing help with a sick pullet please!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by foxyk91, May 11, 2011.

1. foxyk91

foxyk91 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 1, 2009
    Groton, NY
    I have a 5 week old lavender Orpington pullet that is not feeling well. I'm new to chickens so really need some help. I noticed last night that she was really lethargic & not acting like the rest. This morning when she got up to stretch I noticed that she was off balance. She did eat & drink but seems to be eating kind of funny as well. She just seems to lay around a lot & sleep. When she is awake..she doesn't open her eyes fully. She also seems to be twitching/jumping off & on. I called the breeder I got them from & she suggested I give her a few drops of Poly.Vi.Sol vitamins for infants & toddlers. She also advised me to stop the medicated water & give fresh water with a tsp. of electrolytes & 2 syringes full of the Poly.Vi.Sol to the gallon of water. I did all of this but no change as of yet.

Do any of you have any idea what is wrong with her?? I really don't want to lose her:( I will try anything.

Thanks...Karen

2. what's kickin' chicken

what's kickin' chicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 23, 2011
    Missouri
    [​IMG] I really can't help...sorry but maybe someone else can *bump* (hope that helps)....good luck [​IMG]

3. tgrlily

tgrlily Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 11, 2009
    East Syracuse
    Does anyone have any suggestions?

4. foxyk91

Apr 1, 2009
    Groton, NY
    Wow...no one has any idea what might be wrong or might know something I could try to save her?????

5. MamiPollo

MamiPollo Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 6, 2011
    My Coop
    The twitching and jumping sounds like it could be a neurological problem. I don't have a clue about sick chicks. I have a sick one too that no one seems to have any suggestions for.