Neighborhood cat?

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by DangerChickenHouse, Sep 14, 2011.

1. DangerChickenHouse

DangerChickenHouse Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 30, 2011
    Charlotte, NC
    I live in a very urban setting. My chickens do not have a big open yard to roam. Yesterday, they were hanging out under the hydrainga bush. When I went to check on them, I found the neighbor's cat laying about 20 feet from them in the grass. The cat was just watching and seemed really chill. But, I'm new to the chicken thing, so I need to ask: Is the cat going to try and kill my chickens?

2. Cats Critters

Cats Critters Completely Indecisive

Most likely not, a few people on here have had a problem. But I have 7 cats and the chickens free-range (even have had broodys raise chicks) with no problems.

3. Imp

Imp All things share the same breath- Chief Seattle

Cats are not usually a threat to full grown LF. They will usually put cats in their place. If your chickens are small or chicks, you should be cautious. Do you know if the neighbor's cat is a hunter/killer?

Imp

4. DangerChickenHouse

DangerChickenHouse Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 30, 2011
    Charlotte, NC
    The cat is a mouse, rat, and bird hunter. Does that make a difference?

5. Imp

Imp All things share the same breath- Chief Seattle

Quote:Be cautious, but the risk is mimimal. I have 6 feral/stray/house cats, none have ever looked askance at the chicks or chickens.
    They will run the cats off their food. I have to protect the cats from the hens.
    Have had just about every cat in the neighborhood come for a look see a no problems.

Imp- if it makes you nervous, run the cat off.

6. southerndesert

southerndesert B & M Chicken Ranch

Jun 17, 2011
    Morristown, AZ
    Most likely not, a few people on here have had a problem. But I have 7 cats and the chickens free-range (even have had broodys raise chicks) with no problems.