Neither I nor my chickens look like my profile pic

Don Alejo

Chirping
May 15, 2015
My introduction to chickens was unfortunately NOT a happy one. On my uncles farm where as a young boy I spent some summers it was my task to get the eggs each morning. First I had to navigate past what was a very ferocious rooster. Once in the hen house I was confronted by 60 to 80 unhappy chickens who resented my incursions into their nests and often showed their displeasure by pecking me.

Well things are much better now. About four years ago on a whim we bought three cute little bundles of feathers who not only tolerated our early ignorance and mistakes but thrived in spite of them. They brought great joy into our lives and I learned how fun, clever and adaptable they were. I am a psychologist and I can attest that chickens really DO have unique personalities I could go on but if you have read this far you already know what I mean.. One of the trio, Rosie, still survives.and is a rewarding pet that gets held, given treats,petted and carried around with us. In return she still provides us with an egg a day, and all the chicken love she can show us.

Now we have eight new chickies. (two each of sex-linked reds and whites,Black Orpingtons and a Rhode Island Red.)

When at the market check out line I am trapped by someone with pictures and stories of their grandchildren I intend to push multiple photos of our growing chickens and detailed stories of their intelligence and amusing personalities.

I have come a long way since the farm!
Don Alejo

Last edited:

Yorkshire Coop

BYC Staff
Premium Feather Member
6 Years
Aug 16, 2014
UK
My Coop
My Coop
Hi :welcome Don