Nervous and new to this !

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by vikki73, Oct 15, 2016.

1. vikki73

vikki73 Just Hatched

Oct 11, 2016
    Hi I am totally new to hatching eggs although I have had chickens a number of years ago. I have 4 eggs in my incubator and one has pipped this morning but there is definitely a bad smell coming from one of the eggs in the incubator. Without realising I took the lid of the incubator off briefly to try to find out which egg was smelling and didn't realise I shouldn't have done that. I'm hoping everything will be ok as the beak of the chick is still moving but just hasn't been a lot of progress over the last few hours.

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome

Glad you could join us here! Try not to worry, I would have done the same thing if I had smelt something bad coming from the incubator. Opening can cause shrink wrapping of chicks but it's not a certainty. It may or may not happen. I would much rather do that than have the bad bacteria from an egg in there. Did you find the offending egg and remove it?
    They can be pipped for up to 24 hours before they start to zip and hatch so no progress is nothing to worry about at this stage. During this time they are absorbing the yolk and blood vessels, they also rest an awful lot as hatching is a very tiring process for them.

Good luck with your eggs and enjoy BYC :frow

3. vikki73

vikki73 Just Hatched

Oct 11, 2016
    Thank you for your reply .. So glad I found this site as I've learnt so much already .. since I last posted I have another egg just starting to crack [​IMG] But the poor chick in the other egg has had his beak sticking out partially for hours and I'm so worried that I've made the membrane shrink around him [​IMG] I'm trying really hard to be patient and hoping that he's ok ..

4. vikki73

vikki73 Just Hatched

Oct 11, 2016