Nesting Boxes

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by chicnewbie6, Dec 2, 2014.

1. chicnewbie6

chicnewbie6 New Egg

Dec 1, 2014
    Stafford, Virginia
    I'm new to owning chickens, I have 6 RIR's about 20 weeks old. My husband build some really nice nesting boxes. When I recused the girls they were living in very CLOSE quaters. Last night was thier 2nd night in thier new coop. When I went to check on them they were all sleeping in one box all on top of each other. I guess that is something they are use to.

My question is this: 1. Will they ever start to sleep seperatly in thier own box?
    2. Is there anything I can do to help them go that?

Thanks for the help!

2. Percheron chick

Percheron chick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2013
    Boulder, Colorado
    Boxes aren't for sleeping. Adult chickens will roost at night. Do you have enough roosting space (about 1 foot each bird), height off the ground? They might still be a little young to be roosting. Mine typically start at about this age. Block off the nest boxes for now at night. They only need access to them during the day and when they sleep in them they just soil the bedding and it will get all over the eggs when they do start laying.

3. Monguire

Monguire Chillin' With My Peeps

May 18, 2014
    Manassas, VA
    Nesting boxes are only for laying eggs. Young chickens will often resort to piling into nest boxes or corners for warmth/security. As they get older, they will eventually migrate (sometimes with extensive help from us) to the roosts to sleep.

Chickens need a minimum of 10 linear inches of roost (can be 2x4 with either narrow or wide side up depending on the size of your chickens) space per bird and those roosts should be ABOVE the nest boxes to encourage them to use the roosts. Chickens like to sleep as high as they can safely get in the coop.

Last edited: Dec 2, 2014
  4. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    Hello!