Never hatched eggs before

tigger27

In the Brooder
Dec 4, 2018
Dallas, TX
Hi, everybody. I'm very new to chickens and never hatched eggs before, but I would like to try my hand at it mainly due to the cost of buying chicks. What would you recommend for a beginner? What incubator should I get?

ChickenCanoe

Enabler
Premium Feather Member
10 Years
Nov 23, 2010
St. Louis, MO
You'll get lots of suggestions on what incubator to buy. I just want to say, avoid the temptation to buy the cheapest one. This is an area where you really get what you pay for.
If you are going to hatch your own birds' eggs long term, it is a good endeavor.
If just doing it a couple times, it is cheaper to buy chicks. Often, hatching eggs are the same price or more than chicks and live chicks are just that - alive.
Yet an egg, especially a shipped egg, is a pig in a poke.

Last edited:

Shamo Hybrid

Songster
Jun 6, 2018
Cheap incubators DO work, ChickenCanoe.... and work well they do. So before you start recommending thousand dollar incubators to someone who might be on a tight budget or doesn't really need a million eggs....... you should think twice about it! I just hate it when people recommended expensive stuff that is not practical for someone who is new and just started getting into the hobby who may just want something cheap and simple (but effective)! Plus, I'm tired of these incubator companies eye-gouging consumers with their ridiculous prices when these Chinese incubators do the same damn thing! ENOUGH!!!! OK. Rant over.