new again

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Wasabisclucks, Feb 7, 2015.

1. Wasabisclucks

Wasabisclucks Out Of The Brooder

Feb 6, 2015
    Hello,byc, my family is getting ready to keep a few chickens.Twenty some years ago I maintained a flock of about fifteen chickens my sister bought and forgot, but this is my first time setting up from scratch.We have a few breeds were thinking about (americauna, wyandotte, and barred rock), and we're not sure if we should settle on one or mix our first flock to find our ideal bird.We live in western pa.Any thoughts or advice?

2. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us!

3. Twistedfeather

Twistedfeather Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 23, 2014
    Oregon
    Hi welcome to BYC!

Focusing on one breed or not depends on what you want to do, if you are just wanting for backyard pleasure and eggs a mixed flock is fine, in fact that gives opportunities to get some of the most craziest breeds out there while some limit themselves to one.

If you want to show or breed only picking one specific breed to start out with is essential and once you get the hang of one breed than adding another is no problem, in fact most breeders I see have more than one breed.

Enjoy your stay and I hope you have fun!

4. Wasabisclucks

Wasabisclucks Out Of The Brooder

Feb 6, 2015
    I've also read that chickens that look different will clash, should we focus on birds with similar markings, or does raising them together eliminate this problem?

5. Twistedfeather

Twistedfeather Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 23, 2014
    Oregon