New and anxous in VA

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by notreadyforthis, Nov 22, 2013.

1. notreadyforthis

notreadyforthis New Egg

Nov 22, 2013
    Good morning all. I am not sure that "New Member Introductions" is the correct place to ask a question, but I will use the "New Member" part as my defense. [​IMG] I should also warn any brave enough to read this that - much to my husband's consternation - I am not a linear thinker. My thought processes are more like a spider web, and so frequently hard to follow. I will do my best to be clear in my question.

I am new to owning chickens. Many friends and neighbors have them, but this is my first flock. I intended to wait until spring, but my son coerced me into getting fall babies. So, here I am in Northern Virginia (Not scary political, DC part of northern VA, but beautiful and relaxing piedmont part of Northern VA) where the weather is consistently inconsistent (60 today, snow and ice tomorrow), completely paranoid about helping my new chickens through the winter. Help! My "situation" and questions are as follows:

• 11 pullets, 5 weeks old on Monday. Finishing the fence around the run today, but don't plan to move them to the roost/run until 6 weeks.
    • To date: spoiled and pampered in a brooder. Moved from house to small shed at about 2.5 weeks where they have been growing wonderfully (except one Long Horn runt, but she looks healthy, just small), but have been kept toasty warm.
    • I have gathered from comments here that most people feel that chickens do not need, and probably don't benefit from heated coops in the winter.
    • Absolutely makes sense to me, but is a different concept from the neighbor who has been most helpful and so I am not getting guidance or support from her. So, my questions are as follows:

1. Is 5 /6 weeks too early to transition pullets from cozy to winter?