New and Confused!

Bourgeois Farms

Hatching
7 Years
Jul 10, 2012
Hi, I have 2 chickens about 13 weeks old. They are not laying yet, but I read that is OK. My question is the poop! I use hay inside their coop and nesting boxes and clean it out once a week by raking ALL the hay and putting it in a pile and then putting new hay. So- I don't seem to be catching ALL the poop, is this a problem? The girls seem happy, but no eggs. The coop is large for 2 birds and I do let them out when I get home, I am a school teacher, so around 3 pm till 5:30. Should I let them out more? I can't let them out when I am not home, right? They were pooping in their food so I hung it from the top and that seems better. I check their water everyday and they need more food about once a week- I leave the food thingy out all the time and just keep filling it up!
OK so I am open for ideas, suggestions or affirmation that I AM doing an OK job and they WILL lay! LOL thanks!

Hi, I have 2 chickens about 13 weeks old. They are not laying yet, but I read that is OK. My question is the poop! I use hay inside their coop and nesting boxes and clean it out once a week by raking ALL the hay and putting it in a pile and then putting new hay. So- I don't seem to be catching ALL the poop, is this a problem? The girls seem happy, but no eggs. The coop is large for 2 birds and I do let them out when I get home, I am a school teacher, so around 3 pm till 5:30. Should I let them out more? I can't let them out when I am not home, right? They were pooping in their food so I hung it from the top and that seems better. I check their water everyday and they need more food about once a week- I leave the food thingy out all the time and just keep filling it up!
OK so I am open for ideas, suggestions or affirmation that I AM doing an OK job and they WILL lay! LOL thanks!