New and not sure of what I'm doing

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by smthgrly, Feb 7, 2015.

1. smthgrly

smthgrly Out Of The Brooder

Feb 7, 2015
    Hi all, I am new to the chicken game so will probably be in these forums a ton asking lots of questions. Our 5 white leghorn babies arrived yesterday under not so great circumstances. Instead of the USPS calling us to pick our babies up (I even went down there mid day to see if they had come in yet) the mail carrier brought them to our door at 5pm. This means they were in her cold truck all day. Two of the five chicks were listless and unresponsive but after 4 hours of constant vigil and making sure they drank, they seemed to rebound. By the time we went to bed everyone was chirping and moving around. They have slept most of the day today but we noticed one sitting in the corner for a couple of hours...looked like green poop on its bottom so I picked her up to clean it and she was unresponsive again. I quickly made some medicated water (amprol) and gave to all. I hand watered the sick one but she did not make it. The rest of the chicks have seemed listless most of the day but they are drinking . Haven't gotten them to eat much yet (even tried the boiled egg yolk and they just aren't interested). Is this normal for this breed or should I be concerned?

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Do you have the chicks in a brooder with a heat lamp? If they are newly hatched - temperature should be 95 degrees at floor(of brooder). Lamp should be securely fastened in two ways to be sure it doesn't drop on chicks or they touch it accidentally. Make sure the lamp is aimed at half of the brooder space, allowing a cooler area to the other half in case chicks feel too warm.