New Arrival of Chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by rudisillnolan, Feb 5, 2015.

1. rudisillnolan

rudisillnolan New Egg

Apr 21, 2014
    I have been raising chickens for about five years, adults and baby chicks. For the longest time I have always borrowed a brooder from a fellow chicken raiser however we just recently built our own brooder. I ordered fifteen Millie Fleur D'uccle from Meyer Hatchery along with the Meyer Meal Maker they threw in. Remember, this is not my first time raising chicks and I have been fairly successful in the past with raising them. When these sixteen arrived on 2/4, six were DOA. At this current time all sixteen have died. I have never dealt with such sudden death of chicks and a whole range of causes are going through my mind. So basically I am questioning whether I am at fault here or what, the only thing that I could place any blame on could be treated wood on the brooder, besides that nothing comes to mind. I have been satisfied with the customer service Meyer has provided and they've agreed to ship me a whole new batch next Monday. Could anyone possibly share some thoughts on what might be the cause or if I might have done something wrong.

2. lazy gardener

lazy gardener Flock Master

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE
    What did you use to treat the wood?

3. rudisillnolan

rudisillnolan New Egg

Apr 21, 2014
    Its ordinary treated lumber you buy at Lowe's. I treated it with nothing, its bought as treated lumber, you know?

4. thegrovestead

thegrovestead Out Of The Brooder

Jan 31, 2015
    Minnesota
    If 6 were DOA it definitely sounds like an infected crop. I'd take it up w/ the breeder.

5. bhaugh

bhaugh Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 6, 2013
    Las Vegas, NV