1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New at this - starting with 4 baby chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by FriscoRaven, Mar 20, 2013.

1. FriscoRaven

FriscoRaven Out Of The Brooder

Mar 20, 2013
    Hello all! I am brand new to backyard chickens and am getting started with my first chickens in the next few weeks. I am planning to start with just 4 baby chicks and see how that goes before diving into the big leagues!

I have a few questions, the first being about the brooder. What size does it need to be to keep the chicks in? I plan to keep them in my garage (it is not heated but has power so heat lamps won't be an issue). I also don't want to spend a signficant amount of time/money on the brooder since I don't know if I will be getting more chicks down the road.

Any advice, recommendations, or comments?

Thank you!

2. Gypsy Blue

Gypsy Blue Out Of The Brooder

Mar 19, 2013
    Mexico, NY
    Well a Tupperware tub from walmart works well, or do as we did and use a really big cardboard box :) Of course we have 18 fuzzy butts. There's tons of strings with all different methods and they all seem to work. Oh and beware chicken math... my 6 = 18 lol....

Brooder, heat, water, food and lovies... If you've got that it's a good start!

3. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Welcome to BYC! [​IMG] We have a few nice brooder designs here for you to look at: Chicken Brooders The recommended size for chicks are:

Up to 2 weeks: 0.5 sq ft per chick
    2-4 weeks: 1 sq ft per chick
    4-8 weeks: 2.5 sq ft per chick
    Over 8 weeks: 4 sq ft per chick