New baby chicks and advice

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Naimaleonard, Dec 17, 2018.

1. Naimaleonard

Naimaleonard Chirping

Dec 1, 2018
    Somaliland
    I am somewhat new to chickens and raising baby chicks. I am in Africa and there are no commercial type products here so things have to be done the old beautiful fashion way. Anyway, the chicks hatched yesterday and mama is sitting and keeping them warm. I provided them with a shallow dish of apple cider vinegar diluted in water, scrambled eggs and ground grain feed. Now, the scrambled eggs I saw mama hen eating and am hoping that she'll regurgitate it later ? I didn't see her feed it to the chicks and we've already lost 3 batches of chicks all for different reasons so we've readjusted things everytime. I am really hoping these will fare well and grow strong.
    -The first batch we lost to a cat and at that time I only had one hen and rooster. She herself was unable to protect them and the cat took advantage of that.
    -2nd batch was due to poor egg quality and we have since replaced the male as most eggs were no fertilized and we had really weak few chicks.
    -3rd batch was a mistake I think with the nesting box...I am still not sure what happened. Everything seemed to be going well but on the third day they all died. We did handle them more than we have ever before checking on them individually several times a day.