New Breeders

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by 15littlem, Apr 16, 2012.

1. 15littlem

15littlem Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 3, 2012
    I am a teen who has had hens for about 5 years now. I have decided that I want to start breeding (Rhode Island Reds, Barred Rocks, Leghorns, etc.). Do you have any styles you use for breeding? My parents are a little iffy on breeding, on account of having the rooster. Could you give me some ideas on how to persuade them to let me do this project. Anything would help.
    Thanks

2. NYREDS

NYREDS Overrun With Chickens

Jan 14, 2008
    Not sure what you mean by "styles you use for breeding".

3. 15littlem

15littlem Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 3, 2012
    Different hen to rooster ratios, how you breed them (pen, flock, pasture, etc.).

4. Gresh

Gresh Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2011
    North Carolina
    Firstly, I would find a breed that goes broody a lot and is known for its good parenting. I'm not an expert but I assume having several broody-prone hens will keep you from having to purchase a very expensive incubator.

Secondly, it depends on what your parents are concerned about with the rooster. If you live in the city and if they are concerned about crowing because of neighbors, you can always check your city laws about roosters. If the laws allow roosters, then your neighbors couldn't force you to get rid of the rooster if they wanted to. However, if your parents are concerned about the temperament of the rooster, there are a few things they may need to know.