1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New BYC-er; are my chickens sick? Have you seen this before?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Titania, Nov 26, 2010.

1. Titania

Titania Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 28, 2010
    Oklahoma City
    Hi,
    so, I'm new to this as of this year. My first flock got eaten. My second flock is alot safer but they're young right now. They range from 2 weeks to 2 months old. yesterday when I was changing out water & food, I noticed a long, stringy, clear gooey thing. Kind of like clear snot. There was a considerable volume of it. I instantly checked all my chicks for any crusty noses and I didn't see any gooey noses or bubbly eyes. Could it have been vomit? Should I be worried? Could maybe one have over-drank because it was thirsty and then vomited it back up (like my dog does)? Or do I need to investigate the issue further?

More importantly, I have a buff orpington that always has cuts/lesions since it was 1 week old. I thought it had fallen and cut itself and kept inside for 3-4 days while I tended the cuts. They improved, but while washing its cut foot in warm water, the skin of its foot just came off. Literally, like I was boiling it or something. Anyway, sometimes it's got a red dot on an eyelid and can't open it. But, it'll be a different eye the next day. And now, it just always looks sooo beat up. Its legs, comb, nostrils and eyelids always are cracked, lesioned and bleeding.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]