New 'Chick' from Kentucky

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by JamiAnnsChicks, Mar 24, 2012.

1. My husband and I have been researching starting a new 'brood' ourselves for about a year. He wants to start with hens that are already laying. Does anyone have advise or thoughts toward the pros and cons of starting with chicks vs hens? I appreciate ALL advise..very novice here.. We so want to do this right. Thanks! I have really enjoyed looking through this sight.. everyone is so friendly and helpful!

2. littlequail21

littlequail21 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 12, 2011
    Hi and welcome!!! Nice to see new members joining and am glad your taking the steps to Start having some farm fresh eggs, Me personally i would ALWAYS go with Chicks first! here are a few reasons

Chicks

*a better choice of what breeds you want...and there is Many to choose from do you want brown eggs? white? how about blue or green? Dark As chocolate...One of each?!

*the chicks grow up to know you and are Calm around you. which is a Good thing, its hard trying to Be around chickens that don't want to be around you.

* (Number on reason) Healthy!!..all to often when you buy Adult chickens there are Underlining problems with the birds. Due to a sickness you may or may not can see. (Coccidiosis is a big one) and Many diseases are highly Contagious so once one bird has it they all do)

Down side (You may get roosters in your Group of chickens, Get 2 or 3 more then you want if its from a Mixed run) you can sell the roosters for money when you can tell what they are.

Adult chickens

Almost always come with problems, Bad or poor layers, OLD birds or sick. you will have to pay a good price for Healthy chickens!

you will probably only get the "run of the mill" breeds nothing rare or new, just common. : /