New chick identification help + worm and flea questions

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Mak24456, Aug 25, 2016.

1. Mak24456

Mak24456 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 24, 2016
    NC
    Hello! I'm very new to BYC, but it's been a wonderful research tool over the past few months as my family planned to get chickens. I hope I posted this in the right place, it's a few mixed questions!

On Monday we went to the the feed store and got 4 chicks and their essentials along with a tractor. The guy at the store was pretty enthusiastic and got all of our chicks in the box without telling us what breeds each of them were, and told us not to worry since they'd email a receipt with the breeds.

These are the chicks:

[​IMG] [​IMG]
    Bluebell (her eyes are blue, is this unusual?)

[​IMG]
    Henley

[​IMG]
    Muffin

[​IMG]
    Oreo

The emailed receipt says Ameraucana, Buff Orpington, Rhode Island Red, and Dominique.
    From a google search I'm guessing Bluebell is the Buff, Henley is the RIR, and Oreo is the Dominique, but Muffin doesn't really look like the Ameraucana chicks in the pictures, who're more gray. The guy at the store did mention an Easter Egger, could they have gotten the receipt wrong?

Also, since the weather here in NC has been very warm and they are older chicks that don't need a heat lamp, we've been letting them stay in the tractor run during the day and taking them inside to the brooder at night. Could they possibly pick up worms and parasites from foraging outside? I've seen them eating earthworms and little slugs, is it possible that they may pick up something from them?

I've also gotten 45+ bites on my arms and legs after we brought them home, they itch like crazy. Some of the family members have also gotten itchy bites, could these be from the chicks? I've seen Bluebell scratch herself a couple times, but I'm probably just being paranoid. If there are in fact fleas, what would be the best solution to get rid of them?

2. Mak24456