New chick lethargic and breathing heavily

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by greenchile, Mar 3, 2014.

1. greenchile

greenchile Out Of The Brooder

Jan 24, 2014
    Albuquerque, NM
    I am new to raising chickens and don't know what the problem could be. I bought 4 chicks on Thursday, 2 RI Red and 2 Ameracauna. One of the Americauna today has started being very lethargic and is breathing heavily. The other three seem normal but this one just lays in one place with it head down, beak in the bedding, breathing heavily. When I reach in the brood tank, the other three run from me. This on does nothing. If I pick it up it chirps loudly, as if in pain or terrified. Any ideas what's going on?

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    What temperature is the brooder, and is there a cooler area for them to get away from the heat? Check the crop to see if it is full and hard. Check his bottom for pasty butt. Try giving some electrolytes by dipping it's beak into some. SaveAChick chicken electrolytes, Pedialyte, Gatorade, and homemade electrolytes may be used. It's possible that this chick was stressed in shipping to the store, or that it has has some internal problem. Here is a recipe for electrolytes (leave out the salt substitute if you don't have any, and you can make a quart instead of a gallon by dividing ingredients by 4):

1/2 teaspoon salt substitute
    1 teaspoon baking soda
    1 teaspoon table salt
    1 tablespoon sugar
    1 gallon water​

3. greenchile

greenchile Out Of The Brooder

Jan 24, 2014
    Albuquerque, NM