New Chick Looks Really Bad

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by bayerchicks, Dec 2, 2010.

1. bayerchicks

bayerchicks Out Of The Brooder

Nov 12, 2010
    Tangipahoa Parish
    We ordered chicks and they came in this morning. They were shipped yesterday. We lost 2 in transit and 1 looks really bad off. His eyes are always closed. My hubby has been dipping his beak in some sugar water all day and the poor baby looks sooo sad [​IMG]:hit:. This is our first time ordering and I do not want to loose another.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Sorry if my pics look odd. This is my first time and I didn't know about re-sizing until the last pic.

Can anyone tell what kind of chick this is too? I have some like it that are not sick. I ordered white leghorns, buff orpingtons, and ameraucanas. They also included males for warmth, so I have no clue. It has a darker spot on the back of his head.

2. easttxchick

easttxchick Lone Star Call Ducks

Aug 3, 2009
    I don't know where you live or where they were shipped from, but I'm wondering if it's due to the cold(which could be why the others passed in transit).
    I would make sure to keep it warm and watch that the others aren't picking on it. Make sure the water is warm, but not hot that you are giving the poor little thing.
    If you have some electrolytes, I would add some to the water and dip it's little beak in that just to try to help boost it up a bit.
    I think I would try boiling an egg, mashing it up and trying to entice him to eat that.
    As far as breed, I would guess Easter Egger.
    Good luck and hope your baby comes around.

3. bayerchicks

Nov 12, 2010
    Tangipahoa Parish
    They came from Texas and I am in Louisiana. I thought it would be best because it was the closest Hatchery I found. Do I feed the whites too or just the yellow?

4. easttxchick

easttxchick Lone Star Call Ducks

Aug 3, 2009
    Just boil up and mash the whole egg.