1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

new chick mom...2 wk old Cornish Rocks bare chested

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by areyoumymother, Apr 10, 2011.

1. areyoumymother

areyoumymother Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2011
    I am new at this and nervous !! I have 5 Cornish Rocks, 2 Hampshire reds and 1 Leghorn. The Cornish Rocks are twice the size of the other 3 and the baby fuzz on the chest and bellies is almost gone exposing bare skin. Is this normal ? The other 3 still have their baby fuzz.

2. backyardmenagerie

backyardmenagerie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 13, 2011
    Kansas
    Yep, totally normal!
    Cornish crosses are meat birds, so they grow MUCH faster than the laying breeds. They get their bare chests from lying in front of the feeder all day.

3. yotetrapper

yotetrapper Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2007
    North Central MS
    Yeah, and I think it's partially genetic. Less feathers to pluck. [​IMG] I am hoping you are intending to eat these, as, they are not meant to live long.

4. areyoumymother

Apr 9, 2011
    THANK YOU backyardmenagerie ! I have noticed they do seem to monopolize the feeder [​IMG]

Yotetrapper: I had not intended them for meat but more for eggs. I have had my coop for a couple of months now and have been talking incessantly at work about chicken this and chicken that ...finally one of the girls asked me ....well, when are you gonna get your chickens? And honestly I had apprehensively been putting it off, so she went on her lunch to a local feed store and brought back to the office 8 squawking chicks in a box, I was then committed [​IMG] But, so far so good it has been 2 weeks now and all 8 have survived [​IMG]

5. 19hhbelgian

19hhbelgian Pigs DO Fly!!

Apr 9, 2009
    New Tripoli PA