New chick owner in Jersey

Loosey

In the Brooder
May 21, 2016
Hello everyone
I am new to raising chickens in New Jersey. I work in NYin a very high pace, high stressed environment. I would say that I was so close to a mental breakdown when I walked into a farm store and saw a whole bunch of chicks and just decided I am getting chickens. of course everyone definitely agreed I had in fact had a breakdown. however my chickens now about 8weeks old have saved my life and brought me sanity. I have 10 chickens and can't wait every morning to let them out and get home early to spend time with them and put them to bed. But I do have alot of learning do so i am excited to join backyard chickens and learn so much and reward my chicks for helping me.

Hi :welcome

Glad you could join the flock! I'm so pleased to hear the chicks have brought so much joy to you!! They sure are great for healing minds. I find keeping chickens is great for the body and soul.
Have you checked out the learning centre? Lots of great articles that will help you tremendously. Here is the link ~ https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center

Good luck for the future. Be sure to ask any questions, everyone here to help and very friendly.

Enjoy BYC :frow

Hello everyone
I am new to raising chickens in New Jersey. I work in NYin a very high pace, high stressed environment. I would say that I was so close to a mental breakdown when I walked into a farm store and saw a whole bunch of chicks and just decided I am getting chickens. of course everyone definitely agreed I had in fact had a breakdown. however my chickens now about 8weeks old have saved my life and brought me sanity. I have 10 chickens and can't wait every morning to let them out and get home early to spend time with them and put them to bed. But I do have alot of learning do so i am excited to join backyard chickens and learn so much and reward my chicks for helping me.
welcome-byc.gif