new chick with crooked neck...please help!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by bantybev, Jan 9, 2010.

1. bantybev

bantybev Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 11, 2009
    SW Michigan
    I ended up helping a chick out of it's shell after watching it's little beak and one leg sticking out half the day, not wanting to interfere if at all possible. I was so afraid I would do the baby some harm, as I am new to chickens and this is my first hatch. Momma hen went broody and I put her with 3 eggs in my sunroom. First chick was hatched on Wednesday (3 days ago) second one on Thursday. I was thinking if this egg didn't hatch by tomorrow I would take it out, as momma hen was spending more and more time off the nest with new babies. This morning I heard the egg chirping, with beak and one little foot out. About 2 hours ago I gave in and helped the little guy out. The membrane inside shell was dry. He seemed a little large for the shell when he, finally came out. Thank heavens for this forum. I read up on helping and got the little guy out.
    Now the little guy's head is on his chest and he can't seem to raise it on his own. He rolls around on his back and flails his legs and ends up doing circles and headstands. [​IMG]
    I don't know what to do. He is active. Will this correct itself, or should I do something for the poor liittle guy? It's heart breaking to see him like this. I have him isolated in my bedroom with a heat lamp. He has pooped once and I got him to sip a little water off of a q-tip. Please tell me he will be fine as soon as he gets his strength and will be able to hold his head up. I am at a loss. I think he was just stuck on that position too long and I hope it's not permenant.

Last edited: Jan 9, 2010
  2. seminolewind

seminolewind Flock Mistress Premium Member

Sep 6, 2007
    spring hill, florida
    I'm sorry that your first experience has a problem. My first was born with this sac outside his body and ultimately died.