1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New Chicken and Turkey Owner from Wisconsin

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by JewelBirds, Apr 13, 2017.

1. JewelBirds

JewelBirds Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2017
    Hi, we recently added Royal Palm turkeys to our hobby farm a year ago. Our turkey hens just began laying their eggs two weeks ago (fertilized). This is my first time incubating eggs. As of today, they have 17 eggs total between the two of them (they're not laying every day like I read they would, but mostly every other day. I assume this is because they are young and their first time). We just got ISA-brown and white Leghorn chicks, seven each (all pullets) a week ago. The ISA-Brown chicks are starting to get their feathers, and the Leghorns are a bit younger than them but they all get along fine. The ISA's don't seem to be as friendly as the Leghorns, but perhaps that's because of age difference. We hope to have the turkey poults from the eggs and sell them, and then just regular eating eggs from the chickens, for ourselves and other peoole. It's really amazing to see how fast birds grow, and they just add such a personality to our little farm.

Our tom, Buddy, will alert us to anything strange going on outside. He especially doesn't like strange people or crows. He'll keep on "barking" until he can't see or hear the "threat" anymore.

1 person likes this.
  2. Debs Flock

Debs Flock Birds on the brain Premium Member

Apr 28, 2015
    Jefferson County, MO
    [​IMG]

Hello there and congrats on your new additions. Good luck with your hatch!

3. JewelBirds

Apr 13, 2017
    Thank you! I hope the first one goes okay. I'm doing as much research as I can, though there isn't as much sources on turkey hatches as I'd like.

4. Debs Flock