1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New chicken chick in CA!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by regfo3, Aug 19, 2014.

1. regfo3

regfo3 New Egg

Aug 19, 2014
    California
    Hi everyone! I'm new to the world of chickens and currently have 3 chicks that are about 5-6 weeks old. My first experience with chicks started out a bit rocky--we lost two of three in the first week, which I wasn't prepared for, so it's made me really nervous about the three we have now. I have one buff Orpington, and I thought the other two were barred rocks, but now I'm not so sure. They used to look so similar I could hardly tell them apart, but as they've gotten bigger, they look very different, and not at all like the photos of barred rock pullets I've seen! Maybe someone can help me identify them.

In general I have TONS of questions about raising baby chicks. I have 3 kids, a 4 year old boy and 2 year old twin girls, and in a lot of ways I'm finding the chicks harder to care for than they were as babies! It's much less instinctual, I guess.

Looking forward to learning more about raising chickens from everyone on the forum!

2. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
    Hello :frow and Welcome To BYC! Sorry about the loss of your first chicks, glad the new ones are doing well. A great place to start for chicken info is the BYC Learning Center, lots of nice articles on all aspects of poultry keeping https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center and here is a nice article on keeping chicks for the first few months https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/...ks-the-first-60-days-of-raising-baby-chickens