New chicken farmer from Louisiana

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by farmeroak, Feb 8, 2014.

1. farmeroak

farmeroak New Egg

Feb 8, 2014
    Hello everyone. I am new to raising chickens. I would like any info that anyone can pass on to make this a great experience. I was thinking about getting Mt Healthy Barred Plymouth Rock, Babcock White Leghorn, and Araucanas for there colorful eggs. Can I put these three breads together. Does any one have pros and cons about any of them. Thanks Farmeroak.

2. bugglesmommy

bugglesmommy Chillin' With My Peeps

First of all [​IMG]! Second you should join us on the Louisiana La-yers thread! We are a fun bunch and you will likely find someone close enough to you to direct you to the best places to get chickens and supplies.

There should be no reason to not run those breeds together, but just MAKE SURE you are buying what you are looking for if you are interested in Araucanas. Most people do not know the differences between Ameraucanas, Araucanas, and Easter Eggers, and virtually all hatcheries and most local breeder will be ignorantly selling Easter Eggers as purebred Ameraucanas and Araucanas. Please read over this link if you do not know the differences:

http://www.the-chicken-chick.com/2011/09/ameraucana-easter-egger-or-araucana.html

3. farmeroak

farmeroak New Egg

Feb 8, 2014
    Thanks how do I join your thread. Like I said I am brand new to this site and not so good with computers.

4. Mifflin

Mifflin Out Of The Brooder

Jan 1, 2014