New Chicken Mama from Missouri

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by mjhughes78, Mar 24, 2017.

1. mjhughes78

mjhughes78 Just Hatched

Oct 22, 2016
    Purdy, Missouri
    Hi there....I'm a newbie from Missouri. We have 8 Barred Rocks and 4 Rhode Island Reds about 3 1/2 weeks old. We have transitioned them from the house, to the enclosed barn and now are soon ready to move them to their forever home a new coop. I have a couple of questions though...how do you teach them to leave the coop and go down into their "run" during the day and then in the evening come back into the coop? I plan on letting them free range but need to make sure they know where HOME is....but need to make sure I've got a plan before I totally mess this up.....Right now they are doing fine in a large pen in the enclosed barn....but with warmer temps would love to start transitioning them....

Any thoughts....

2. RodNTN

RodNTN Following Jesus

May 22, 2013
    The USA
    My Coop
    [​IMG] I am glad you joined us! Is your run connected to your coop? For transitioning, I would check these links out:
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/511304/how-to-transition-the-chicks-to-the-coop
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/92382/so-how-do-you-transition-your-chicks-from-brooder-to-coop

If you ever have any other questions, don't hesitate to ask! Or you can just hop over to the Learning Center:
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center

And if you want to chat with other chicken lovers near you, you can check this forum out:
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/26/where-am-i-where-are-you

I hope you enjoy BYC, best wishes and best of luck! [​IMG]

2 people like this.
  3. N F C

N F C dem crazy bones Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    [​IMG]

You have some good links to read up on so I'll just say hello and thanks for joining us!

4. CuzChickens

CuzChickens CountryChick

Apr 24, 2016
    Virginia