New chicken mom in Kansas

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by msjfrizzle, Jun 9, 2011.

1. msjfrizzle

msjfrizzle Out Of The Brooder

May 26, 2011
    Wichita, Kansas
    I am brand new at raising chickens, and my first three girls are 9 weeks old. Two are Silver Spangled Hamburgs, and I have no idea what the third one is. She's bigger and has a single comb, gray feathers, blue/gray feet, and red ears. When they were only about 2 weeks old, they were helping me weed the garden. When the sun started to set, they started making a strange sound, so I sat down on the grass near them. They promptly climbed into my lap and settled down to sleep. I was amazed, and utterly delighted. They'll do it every evening if I'm outside with them.

I 'inherited' an incubator from a fellow teacher, and since I was having so much fun with the first three chicks, I got 6 Black Copper Marans eggs on Ebay. Only one hatched, unfortunately, but it's a feisty little critter that follows me around the yard at the ripe old age of 9 days. Based on what I've been reading here, I think it's a pullet, but we'll have to wait and see. Right now it looks like a Hobbit penguin, so I named it Merry (think Pippin, Frodo...)

I discovered BYC while searching for coop ideas, and the wealth of information has been extremely helpful. Thanks to everyone who has contributed to this treasure!! I keep coming back, and always find answers to my 'beginner' questions about all kinds of chicken things.

When I'm not playing with the chicks, I tend an expanding vegetable garden, play the bodhran (Irish drum) and sing in a Celtic band, and enjoy a variety of visual arts- pottery, watercolor, basketry, calligraphy, silver-smithing, needle arts, etc. I also teach various art forms at my church's youth camps. I have a life-long interest in herpetology, and do some volunteer work with a local nature center. I've been catchin' frogs and tadpoles for over half a century!!