New chicken mom in VT

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by joseevt48, Apr 17, 2016.

1. joseevt48

joseevt48 New Egg

Apr 17, 2016
    Hi all! I am in South Burlington VT surrounded by farmland. I am new to taking care of chicken. I have 6 8 week old chicks currently residing in the garage in their coop. I am nervous about transitioning them to the outside world! Free range? Electric fence? Fully endosed pen? Rooster or not? Hawks, coyotes, raccoons, what's a chicken mom to do? Any advice would be appreciated.

2. Pyxis

Pyxis Dark Sider Premium Member

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop
    :welcome from another Vermonter! You're not too far from me at all, I'm in Fair Haven :) You should come join us in the VT thread, there's a link in my signature.

As for putting them outside, I free range mine when I'm home, but otherwise they have a nice big run that they stay in. I'm moving to an electric netting setup in a month or so for even more protection. My run isn't covered and I have lost a few to a hawk. If you decide to free range you will almost definitely lose some to predators, but in my mind it's about quality of life over quantity and the risk is worth it. I also keep roosters, geese, and guineas, and they all help reduce losses.

1 person likes this.
  3. Kateluvchickans

Kateluvchickans Out Of The Brooder

Apr 17, 2016
    Go waterbury Vt!
    I am from VT too![​IMG]

4. Kateluvchickans

Kateluvchickans Out Of The Brooder

Apr 17, 2016
    Go waterbury Vt!
    Hey Pixis, I saw that you keep roosters. Im from Waterbury VT and I am hatching chicks at the moment. I Have a home for all the hens, but am worried if ones a rooster. Let me know if you know anybody that could take them, or if you have room for one more[​IMG]

5. Pyxis

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop

You both should come say hello in the VT thread :) It's not very active because we don't have a lot of participants so we'd love to see you in there!

6. joseevt48