1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New chicken Mom

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Patriciaallison, Apr 10, 2016.

1. Patriciaallison

Patriciaallison Out Of The Brooder

Apr 9, 2016
    Edgerton kansas
    Hello fellow chicken farmers. I am new to chicken raising I moved to a farm with a huge coop with 60 boxes in it and room for more. I bought six chicks at Easter time three americannas one black cooper muran and two random "I don't knows" now I want more! I want 20 black cooper muran hens. I live in Edgerton Kansas and would like to find bird close to me. Also I am wondering if I can keep my ducks goose and Guineas in the coop with my chicks?
    Thanks for reading
    P

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome to BYC - glad that you have joined us. 60 nesting boxes? goodness me, I'd have heart failure if i thought about how many chickens i could get in such a place [​IMG]

I hope other members will be able to advise re: mixing poultry / fowl - never done it.

The Learning Centre is a great resource, even for experienced poultry keepers - loads of info on anything poultry. https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center

All the best
    CT

3. gander007

gander007 Chicken Obsessed

Alright [​IMG] great to have you joining the BYC flock [​IMG]

BYC has a very useful Learning Center [​IMG]

Marans is a place in France so if you only have one Marans it is still Marans and if you join the Marans Trend people will jump all over you so please keep it in mind [​IMG]

[​IMG]
    The key to having many different creatures together is to have plenty of feed & water and space for all to roam [​IMG]

[​IMG]
    Different sizes work well [​IMG]

gander007 [​IMG]